Call Us: +975-17617107

Political System

Bhutan is the world’s only Buddhist kingdom. The Bhutanese name for the country is Druk Yul which means “Land of the Thunder Dragon”. Bhutan’s call for democracy was a top down sermon by the King Jigme Singye Wangchuk. Until King introduce democratic system in Bhutan on 2008, welfare and country’s development were all taken care from the throne room. King is the head of the state and Prime Minister along with his cabinet ministers take care of the country’s development activities for a period of five years term. The organs of the Bhutanese government comprises of the legislature, judiciary and the executive. The ruling political party, the opposition and the National Council now form the legislative body.